CVI and AAC / CVI y CAA

Implications for Assessment, Intervention and Research, An Introductory Interview to ISAAC’s Pre-conference Workshop – October 23, 2020 

Presenters:

  • Christine Roman-Lantzy, Ph.D., TVI. Director, The Pediatric View Program at Western Pennsylvania Hospital, Pittsburgh, PA. USA
  • Sarah Blackstone, Ph.D. CCC-SLP, Director, CVI/AAC Project at The Bridge School

Interviewer:
Gaby Berlanga, SLP. Vice President for Conferences – Conference Co-chair, ISAAC

Directed to:
Parents and Professionals who serve students with CVI who use AAC

Seminar Description:

You will learn about children with CVI (Cortical Visual Impairment) and how their unique characteristics influence the development of language, communication skills and literacy. We will discuss the potential impact of decisions being made about their use of AAC tools and strategies in educational settings.

Learning outcomes:

  • Introduction to CVI, CVI characteristics and the CVI range
  • Understand the importance of considering AAC approaches for today as well as envisioning approaches for the future
  • Become familiar with early results of ongoing research work underway at The Bridge School in Hillsborough, California.

Resources/Recursos:

 


CVI y CAA: Implicaciones en los procesos de evaluación, intervención e investigación, Una entrevista introductoria al taller pre-congreso de ISAAC – 23 de octubre 2020

Aprenderás sobre los niños con CVI (Cortical visual Impairment) y cómo sus características únicas influyen en el desarrollo del lenguaje, habilidades comunicativas y de lectoescritura. Conversaremos sobre el impacto potencial en las decisiones que se toman sobre las herramientas y estrategias de CAA en el ambiente educativo.

Objetivos:

  • Introducción a CVI, sus características y el rango de CVI
  • Comprender la importancia de considerar metodologías de CAA que se enfoquen en el presente y el futuro
  • Familiarizarse con los resultados preliminares del proyecto de investigación que se lleva a cabo en The Bridge School en Hillsborough, California, USA.

Dirigido a:

Padres y Profesionales que apoyan a alumnos con CVI que usan CAA.

Ponentes:

  • Christine Roman-Lantzy, Ph.D., TVI. Directora, The Pediatric View Program del Western Pennsylvania Hospital, Pittsburgh, PA. USA
  • Sarah Blackstone, Ph.D. CCC-SLP, Directora, Proyecto CVI/AAC en  The Bridge School

Moderadora:
Gabriela Berlanga, SLP. Vicepresidenta de Congresos, ISAAC

Día y hora:

23 de octubre 2020,  14:00 ET 

11:00 San Francisco

13:00 Ciudad de México, Lima

14:00 Toronto, Nueva York

15:00 Santiago, Buenos Aires

20:00 Madrid

*Contaremos con interpretación consecutiva al español*

Resources/Recursos:

Printprint


x Logo: Shield
This Site Is Protected By
Shield