Webinars

*Unless otherwise indicated, all ISAAC International webinars are recorded and will be made available in the Archived Webinars section for viewing.

Information on ASHA CEUs for USSAAC webinars can be found on the USSAAC website, here

To request from ISAAC International a hosted or sponsored webinar, please return this form-fillable PDF with details of your proposed webinar and preferred time slot, to franklin@isaac-online.org.

PLEASE NOTE:  A copy of the form MUST first be downloaded and saved to your local computer prior to completing.


 
 

CVI AND AAC

IMPLICATIONS FOR ASSESSMENT, INTERVENTION AND RESEARCH

AN INTRODUCTORY INTERVIEW TO ISAAC’S PRECONFERENCE WORKSHOP

Friday, October 23, 2020

 

Presenters:

  • Christine Roman-Lantzy, Ph.D., TVI. Director, The Pediatric View Program at Western Pennsylvania Hospital, Pittsburgh, PA. USA
  • Sarah Blackstone, Ph.D. CCC-SLP, Director, CVI/AAC Project at The Bridge School

Interviewer:
Gaby Berlanga, SLP. Vice President for Conferences – Conference Co-chair, ISAAC

Directed to:
Parents and Professionals who serve students with CVI who use AAC

Seminar Description:

You will learn about children with CVI (Cortical Visual Impairment) and how their unique characteristics influence the development of language, communication skills and literacy. We will discuss the potential impact of decisions being made about their use of AAC tools and strategies in educational settings.

Learning outcomes:

  • Introduction to CVI, CVI characteristics and the CVI range
  • Understand the importance of considering AAC approaches for today as well as envisioning approaches for the future
  • Become familiar with early results of ongoing research work underway at The Bridge School in Hillsborough, California.

*The session will have consecutive translation into Spanish*

Resources/Recursos:

CVI y CAA

IMPLICACIONES EN  LOS PROCESOS DE  EVALUACIÓN, INTERVENCIÓN E INVESTIGACIÓN

UNA ENTREVISTA INTRODUCTORIA AL TALLER PRE-CONGRESO DE ISAAC

23 de octubre 2020,  14:00 ET 

Aprenderás sobre los niños con CVI (Cortical visual Impairment) y cómo sus características únicas influyen en el desarrollo del lenguaje, habilidades comunicativas y de lectoescritura. Conversaremos sobre el impacto potencial en las decisiones que se toman sobre las herramientas y estrategias de CAA en el ambiente educativo.

Objetivos:

  • Introducción a CVI, sus características y el rango de CVI
  • Comprender la importancia de considerar metodologías de CAA que se enfoquen en el presente y el futuro
  • Familiarizarse con los resultados preliminares del proyecto de investigación que se lleva a cabo en The Bridge School en Hillsborough, California, USA.

Dirigido a:

Padres y Profesionales que apoyan a alumnos con CVI que usan CAA.

Ponentes:

  • Christine Roman-Lantzy, Ph.D., TVI. Directora, The Pediatric View Program del Western Pennsylvania Hospital, Pittsburgh, PA. USA
  • Sarah Blackstone, Ph.D. CCC-SLP, Directora, Proyecto CVI/AAC en  The Bridge School

Moderadora:
Gabriela Berlanga, SLP. Vicepresidenta de Congresos, ISAAC

Día y hora:

23 de octubre 2020,  14:00 ET 

11:00 San Francisco

13:00 Ciudad de México, Lima

14:00 Toronto, Nueva York

15:00 Santiago, Buenos Aires

20:00 Madrid

*Contaremos con interpretación consecutiva al español*

Resources/Recursos:


Stories of Practice and Support during COVID

Wednesday, October 28th, 2020

@ 5:00 – 6:00 p.m. ET

Part of the ISAAC-Canada Webinar Series

Register Here

Presenters:  Anne- Marie Yaworski, Braille & Literacy Specialist, Montreal, PQ; Dr. Karen, Pollock, Professor, Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders, University of Alberta, Edmonton, AB; Krista Wennerstrom, SLP, Edmonton, AB; Alison Rumball, OCT, MSEd, Toronto, ON; Shaun Pearson, SLP, Calgary, AB

Moderator: Dr. Kathy Howery

Webinar Description: This webinar presents an opportunity to hear from five Canadian professionals who have, like all of us, been dealing with how to support children and youth with complex communication needs and their families in the time of COVID. The presenters will share their stories, including what they have been doing that is different since COVID, what successes they have achieved, what challenges they have encountered, and what they will continue to do whether COVID exists in the world or not.

Topics include: Teaching Emergent Communicators and PWUAAC during a Pandemic; An Online AAC Camp; Supports in a Large Urban District; An Online Parent Support Group; Strategies for Successful Engagement with PWUAAC over the Digital Platform.

Webinar Objectives:

  1. Learn about five experiences of changing practices during COVID
  2. What was successful for the presenters in their new COVID practices?
  3. What challenges have the presenters encountered?
  4. What have presenters learned that they will take forward in their practices whether COVID protocols continue or not?

Printprint

x Logo: Shield
This Site Is Protected By
Shield