ISAAC’s activities are supported by its members through standing committees and working groups that focus on specific responsibilities:

Standing Committees

Bylaws Committee

Reviewing the existing bylaws to create a more concise document, as mandated by the Council in July 2010.

  • India Ochs, Chair ilochs(at)
  • Signhild Skogdal, Council Chair
  • Liz Moulam
  • Shelley Deegan
  • Janice Murray
  • Kate Anderson

Conference Committee

Oversees the operation of ISAAC’s Biennial Conferences. The Biennial Conference is an important education, financial and advocacy activity for ISAAC.

2020 Biennial Conference Committee

Works with the Executive Board and the ISAAC International Office to achieve a successful international conference on behalf of ISAAC.

Emerging AAC Nations Committee (BUILD)

(incorporated under BUILD Project) Supports ISAAC membership in countries and regions where resources restrict the availability of AAC programs and services.

BUILD Committee 2020 – 2022

  • Miroslav Vrankic, Chair miroslav.vrankic(at)
  • Renata Bonotto – Brazil
  • Maurice Grinberg – Bulgaria
  • Claudia Marimón Rigollet – Chile
  • Lixia Jia – China
  • Kelly Liang – China
  • Ellyn Cassey Chua – The Philippines
  • Ensa Johnson – South Africa
  • Carla Van Nieuwenhuizen – South Africa
  • Claire Campbell  – USA

Family Engagement Committee

Finance Committee

Monitors the funds and financial records of the organization, as well as ISAAC’s fiscal policies, practices and procedures.

  • Tracy Shepherd, President
  • Signhild Skogdal, Council Chair
  • Neil Hansen, ISAAC-UK (Communication Matters)
  • Franklin Smith, Executive Director

Leadership Committee for People who use AAC (LEAD)

Advises ISAAC on all issues involving people who use AAC. Develops projects with a consumer focus. This committee fosters the participation of augmented communicators, their families and support networks within ISAAC and beyond.

  • Kevin Williams, Chair llslim(at)
  • Diane Bryen, Secretary
  • Lisa Lehmann
  • Beth Moulam
  • Ju Hyeon Kim

Nominations Committee

Responsible for seeking nominations from the ISAAC membership for positions on the Executive Board.

Awards and Scholarships Program

(liaises with Nominations Committee and Executive Director; not a standing committee of ISAAC). Guides the selection process for biennial awards/scholarships recognizing outstanding achievement and distinguished service to ISAAC.

Publications Committee

Oversees the publication of the AAC journal. Acts as liaison between ISAAC and AAC’s publisher, Taylor & Francis Group. Advises on issues related to publishing in the field of augmentative and alternative communication. The aim of the Publications Committee is to increase access to materials that will benefit ISAAC members and the international AAC community.

Provisional list of members:

Research Committee

Monitors the development of research activities within the organization. Activities include the biennial ISAAC Research Symposium, held in conjunction with the ISAAC Conference. The Research Committee also considers strategies to encourage established and young researchers (e.g., students) to engage in state-of-the-art developments in the field. One of ISAAC’s main goals is to promote research and development in all areas of AAC.

2020 – 2022 Research Committee Members:

  • Beata Batorowicz (Chair – Canada) beata.batorowicz(at)
  • Jennifer Kent-Walsh (USA)
  • Thor Sandmel (Norway)
  • Kristine Stadskleiv (Norway)
  • Kerstin Tönsing (SA)
  • David Trembath (Australia)
  • Catia Walter (Brazil)

Other Groups:

Friends of ISAAC

Advises on issues of importance to the organization. The Friends are volunteers who have formerly served ISAAC at the governance level.

Communication with the United Nations

Guides ISAAC in its role as NGO in Special Consultative Status with the Economic and Social Council of the United Nations (ECOSOC).

Liaison between the Council and the Executive Board

Interested in joining a committee or group?

Please contact the Chair listed for the committee/group, or contact the Council Chair.